Shame on the NRA owned congress!!!

46 just a number right? No, in this case it is very significant. It is the exact number of U.S. Senators who voted to support a filibuster against a bill supported by 90% of Americans, including many NRA members. They voted no on the Universal Background Check bill yesterday In a 54-46 vote.

Yes you read that right the bill lost by winning the vote. Due to some procedural finagling in the deal that got the senate to open debate without filibuster. These provisions required a 60 vote supermajority to make the bill law or it would be filibustered.

46 senators including 4 democrats voted to not prevent criminals or the severely mentally ill from obtaining firearms.

Before the vote, the NRA had spread lies to many paranoid gun owners, saying the bill would create a national database of gun owners. This was completely bunk as this had already been made illegal in 2006 and again in this new background check bill was reiterated.

These senators ignored the people who elected them. Instead they bowed to money from the Gun Lobby. This is simply an act of cowardice by our elected officials and it is appalling.

This is a symptom of a larger failure of our political system. We now have a congress completely controlled by which lobby pays them the most and this vote proves that yet again.

We must not let up on this appalling act of cowardice. We must move forward and if we must use this vote as a rallying cry for the 2014 elections. This means voting out everyone we can that went again 90% of the American voters.

If you do not support this act of cowardice by our congress let your voice be heard. Call them, Email them, find them on Facebook. Do not be ignored.

These are the 46 who ignored 90% of American voters:

Alexander (R-TN)
Ayotte (R-NH)
Barrasso (R-WY)
Baucus (D-MT)
Begich (D-AK)
Blunt (R-MO)
Boozman (R-AR)
Burr (R-NC)
Chambliss (R-GA)
Coats (R-IN)
Coburn (R-OK)
Cochran (R-MS)
Corker (R-TN)
Cornyn (R-TX)
Crapo (R-ID)
Cruz (R-TX)
Enzi (R-WY)
Fischer (R-NE)
Flake (R-AZ)
Graham (R-SC)
Grassley (R-IA)
Hatch (R-UT)
Heitkamp (D-ND)
Heller (R-NV)
Hoeven (R-ND)
Inhofe (R-OK)
Isakson (R-GA)
Johanns (R-NE)
Johnson (R-WI)
Lee (R-UT)
McConnell (R-KY)
Moran (R-KS)
Murkowski (R-AK)
Paul (R-KY)
Portman (R-OH)
Pryor (D-AR)
Reid (D-NV)
Risch (R-ID)
Roberts (R-KS)
Rubio (R-FL)
Scott (R-SC)
Sessions (R-AL)
Shelby (R-AL)
Thune (R-SD)
Vitter (R-LA)
Wicker (R-MS)

Blog Archive

Total Pageviews